Westridge Elementary

Raytown School District announces 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year
Raytown School District announces 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 03/23/2017
Casey Lohman, Robinson Elementary first grade teacher, has been named the Raytown School District Teacher of the Year for the 2017-2018 school year.  Casey, a Texas native and 10-year educator, graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University.

A colleague and parent says about Casey, “I was blown away with her ability to be both commanding and cuddly, enthusiastic and informative. Our daughter immediately loved going to school.  Her growth in Mrs. Lohman’s class was exponential and explosive. Mrs. Lohman’s rules in class became the rules in our house simply because our daughter loves to follow them – because she love’s Mrs. Lohman.”

"I knew the minute I interviewed Mrs. Lohman five years ago that she was truly a unique educator, and I wanted her to be a part of Robinson Elementary,” says Dr. Elizabeth Arbisi Principal of Robinson Elementary. “She is one of those rare people with a true gift for teaching.  To observe her with her students is truly amazing.  Her genuine love for teaching and learning is evident."

Teacher of the Year judges described Lohman as a passionate educator capable of developing authentic relationships. In her Teacher of the Year application, Lohman shared, “My goal is to teach learning. It is a lifelong skill and the foundation to all success. I strive to make learning safe, fun, and exciting to protect it from becoming the boring drudgery of work.”

Other building nominees were: Kelly Bouska, Blue Ridge Elementary; Geri Barker, Eastwood Hills Elementary; Debbie Davis, Fleetridge Elementary; Rene Davis, Laurel Hills Elementary; Alex Tompkins, Little Blue Elementary; Megan Butler, New Trails; Nichole Lieb, Norfleet Elementary; Ann Marie Robins, Northwood; Kristin Drummond, Raytown Central Middle; Betsy Schmit, Raytown High; Cynthia Gerdes, Raytown Middle; Thomas Stueve, Raytown South High; Kelcey McCauley, Raytown South Middle; Niki Mayfield, Southwood Elementary; Lisa Kirk, Spring Valley; and Megan Lindsey, Westridge Elementary.

Lohman will represent the District in the Missouri Teacher of the Year selection process and will deliver a speech at the District’s annual back to school Convocation in August.

Pictured above: From left, Dr. Allan Markley, Superintendent of Schools, Lohman, and Dr. Elizabeth Arbisi, Robinson Elementary Principal.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.