Westridge Elementary

District announces Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2016
District announces Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2016
Posted on 07/06/2016

The Raytown School District is pleased to announce its Alumni Hall of Fame Class for 2016.  The class includes six individuals who will join the ranks of other respected alumni on during the October 7 and 8 Induction Weekend activities.

Dr. Cynthia (Paris) Burkhead is a 1975 graduate of Raytown High School.  Dr. Burkhead is the English Department Chair at University of Northern Alabama and is a nationally recognized lecturer, presenter, and author.

Mark Corey is a 1986 graduate of Raytown High School. Corey is a multi-award winning journalist, producer, reporter, and photographer for the CBS affiliate KRQE in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Dr. Mark Hoffman is a 1987 graduate of Raytown South High School. Dr. Hoffman is the Director of Health Insights at UMKC and the Director of the Translational Bioinformatics for Children’s Mercy Hospital.

Jim Martin is a 1971 graduate of Raytown High School. He is a decorated retired Navy Commander and combat veteran, who served as a U.S. Navy Aerospace Engineering Officer and National Improvised Explosive Device counter-terrorism expert.

Mike Swanson is a 1972 graduate of Raytown High School. Swanson is the Vice President of Communications and Broadcasting for the Kansas City Royals.

Dr. Starnes Walker attended Raytown Schools from Kindergarten through his 11th grade year in 1964. Dr. Walker is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Founding Director of the University of Delaware Cybersecurity Initiative (UDCSI).

The six inductees will meet with students at the two district high schools, will be featured speakers at a community luncheon, and will be introduced at the Raytown High School football game all on Friday, October 7 at Chittwood Stadium; the formal induction ceremony takes place on Saturday, October 8.

This is the 12th class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, which began in 2005.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.